Activating and deactivating Redgate tools

In the past, Redgate products could be activated using just a serial number.  In order to make it easier for you to manage your licenses and know who’s using a product, activation in most of Redgate's desktop tools now also requires users to log in with their Redgate ID.  The following does not apply to server-based tools such as SQL Monitor, SQL Backup. 

Activating

Download and install the product.  On the first run after installation, you are prompted to log in with your Redgate ID to activate the license.  If you don't have a Redgate ID you can follow the links in the client dialogue to create one.

You are only required to log in with your Redgate ID once on each computer, either through installing a product for the first time or updating an existing product.  As other products are upgraded or installed on that computer, they'll be activated using the same Redgate ID.

Logging in with the same Redgate ID each time will only consume one entitlement.  If an additional Redgate ID is used, this will consume another entitlement.

If you are getting the message that you have run out of entitlements, you might not have logged in. On the toolbar of the tool, click on Help>Manage license and you'll see here if you're logged in:

To activate using a Redgate ID you will require an internet connection. If you do not have an internet connection, see Manual Activation

When activating manually, the Redgate Client Service is not contacted. Therefore, you will need to ensure that your Redgate ID is not listed on the user list in the customer portal. Instead, once you have manually activated you shall see an entry on the user list that reads 'Not logged in'.

Out of Entitlements when Manually Activating

What does 'Not logged in (xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx)' mean?

Deactivating

When you deactivate your tools you also need to remove yourself as a user from the license. This is done in the customer portal. 

  1. Log in to your customer portal using your Redgate ID and password
  2. Under My Products, select Manage on the license you wish to deactivate
  3. Choose Remove myself from this license
  4. Your license has now been deactivated and is ready to be applied elsewhere or to a new user
Was this article helpful?

1 out of 4 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request